The Best Incentive Ever!

My dearest lifelong friend Shannon just made the most amazing proposal to me. For every pound I lose, she will set aside $10 for savings. Once I’ve lost the 92 lbs I’m setting out to lose, we’re going to take a fabulous vacation together. This came as an incredible incentive. Shannon and I haven’t lived in the same place since we both went off to college, and have only been able to make a few trips to see each other in the past several years. Yet every time we’re together, it’s like no time has passed at all. We’re always the girls we were when we spent the night at each others houses growing up.

Here are some photos from her last visit, taken last May, 2011:

Us girls drinking, hiking, and being fabulous in Portland.

Shannon is one of those completely rare treasures of a friend. She always inspires and amazes me, and has been doing so for as long as I’ve known her. We’ve been close for about 17 years now, and have experienced so much together. There is never a moment I wouldn’t want to spend time with her.

That said, I’m doubling up her proposal. For every pound I lose, I’m also going to put away $10 towards savings. That way, once I hit my goal, both of us will be able to book our trip without a problem (for me being in the arts, having a lot of money for anything is always a crapshoot).

This is perhaps the most amazing incentive/proposal anyone has ever dangled in front of me. Not that people dangle weight loss incentives in front of me often…. in fact this may be my first one. But I know this is going to hold inspiration in the back of my mind when things get hard or when I can’t find a reason to make the healthy choices. Just knowing I will be taking an amazing trip with one of my closest and dearest friends at the end of this journey, on top of having acquired an amazingly fit and healthy body, is worth more than gold.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Best Incentive Ever!

  1. What a brilliant idea!! Good luck!

  2. Shannon says:

    I’m so excited for your journey and transformation!

Leave a Reply

