First Week Wrap-Up

Before I get into how I feel my first week as a whole went, I want to fill you in on yesterday:

I hiked up to Mirror Lake near Mt. Hood on my morning off. I’ve been there before, this past January, and while the view from the lake was incredible, the hike up there was not my most graceful. I was traversing through snow in sneakers, I wasn’t used to hiking regularly, and since it’s a 1.5 mile ascent to the lake I was huffing and puffing so hard halfway through I debated calling it quits (I kept going, but it was rough).

[QUICK, INTERRUPTING, SHAMELESS BLOG PLUG! My other WordPress blog, 52treks, chronicles the adventures of my New Year’s resolution of hiking 52 trails in 2012. As of today I’ve completed 18 hikes!]

This time hiking up to Mirror Lake was completely different. The weather was absolutely perfect, the trail was clear, and I was feeling good. I did this hike solo, and trekked all the way up to the lake in one fell swoop, not needing to stop once to catch my breath. I really, truly amazed myself. I think perhaps having 17 hikes this year under my belt helped my endurance, even if my body is terribly overweight. I’m starting to feel like a very fit person in a very unfit body. It gets me excited to think of what I’m truly capable of with 92 pounds off of my frame. Also, my Fitbit (I should name it so I don’t have to keep calling it my Fitbit) told me I’d hiked the equivalent of 75 flights of stairs on my hike. That’s the equivalent of a skyscraper! I’ve been finding the Fitbit to be dead-on accurate with stairs. I climbed a few flights of stairs yesterday both at work and at home and it gave me an exact count. So knowing I basically climbed 75 flights of stairs without needing to catch my breath makes me feel like Wonderwoman 😀 My reward, the view from the top at the lake, was the best cap to the hike:

Personal triumph!

Now on to my Week One recap:

As far as first weeks back in a new mode of healthy living go, I couldn’t have asked for a better week. And when I say better, I don’t mean perfect, because I wouldn’t say this week was a model in perfection. What it was, was manageable, not stressful, and gave me a good glimpse that I can keep this up.

Just a taste of my week:

  • Tracked all my WW points
  • Went to dinner with a friend and made healthier choices
  • Made it to the mountains for a kick-ass hike
  • Brought meals to work instead of eating whatever was around
  • Sought to meet my daily Fitbit activity goals (so far, so good, but it’s only been a couple of days).

I really thought going back to WW would be a lot harder. I remember going back in January, and even earlier going back when I first moved to Portland, how uninspired I was and how quickly I went back to my regular habits. This time is so different. I feel refreshed and motivated. I feel like I did back in 2007 when I first joined WW, except this time I’m not about to embark on a national tour and a world of unpredictability. I’m home. I’m planted. I’m going to learn these habits for life. And I’m also going to learn to deal with life’s unpredictability, because you can’t escape that.

I’m extremely excited for my first weigh-in tomorrow. I have a very good feeling I’m off to a strong start. I’m also excited to get back to another meeting, and soak in the awesomeness that is my leader, Sylvia. Here goes!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to First Week Wrap-Up

  1. You rock you can do this!! I’ve seen so many people have great success with WW! Keep it up!

  2. actress1924 says:

    Thank you so much for the words of encouragement! They are greatly appreciated 🙂

  3. Jeni says:

    75 flights is AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

