August Plans

The summer season for the theatre I work for just came to an end today. Which means: FREE WEEKENDS AND EVENINGS!!!

Yes, this is true. Between right now and September 4th, my only work commitments are to Starbucks, weekday mornings. How will I spend my evenings and weekends this month? Wisely, for one thing. I’ll be damned if come Sept. 4th I haven’t hiked or exercised my ass off.

So I have two goals for the next four weeks:
1. Complete a minimum of 8 hikes. With 3 days off a week, this should be highly attainable. Hopefully I’ll be hitting the trails even more than 8 times.
2. Be able to run 2 miles without stopping. I have no idea what I’m capable of right now, I haven’t run in over a year. But considering I can trek over 10 miles and up 164 flights of stairs in a single hike, I feel good about meeting that goal. Tomorrow I hit the track.

The only caveat to taking on running again is how I always feel when I get off work at S’bux. After being on my feet for 6 solid hours (literally), my feet are killing me. The very first thing I do when I get home is plop down for a while just to relieve my aching feet. I know my weight does not help at all, and the lighter I am the better they’ll feel, but that thought doesn’t help when I get off work and want to run but my feet are like, “Screw that, we’re done.” So I’m trying to figure out how to trouble-shoot this. I could wake up even earlier and get my run out of the way for the day (which would mean waking up at 2am instead of 3am which honestly sounds insane), or I could take a light rest when I get home and pound the pavement at night when it’s cooler and my feet have had a break.

Tomorrow I plan on running in the early evening. First run of 2012! This will certainly be an experience. I’ll report on how it goes.

In the meantime, Fiona is telling me I still have 1.83 miles left to walk and 2,630 more steps to take before I’ve been properly active today. Weather.com is telling me it’s 92 degrees out, and it’s nearly 7:30pm. Oy. Going to drink a giant glass of water then off I go for a long walk around my neighborhood.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to August Plans

  1. Shannon says:

    Can’t wait for the running update! Just take it slow and steady.

Leave a Reply

