Run Baby, Run.

Yesterday’s run went so, so, so much better than I thought. I didn’t trip over my feet, and I didn’t die. Success!

When I got out to the 1/3 mile per lap track, I told myself that if I could make it around once without stopping, I could call it a success. I based this off the fact that just running 3 or 4 blocks to the MAX train winds me, and I haven’t run in just about two years. Not to mention, I’ve also put on weight since my running days. Also, the first time I tried to build up my running, I think I was only able to start at half a 1/4 mile lap (before building up to my weekly 10k races. Such glorious days).

Andrew came out to the track with me and sat on the grass and read a book. I completely love the support, though I didn’t know how much I wanted him to witness my first run in forever. The boy runs 6-7 mile runs on 90 degree days, and here I am trying to get a third of a mile in. Also, I knew for sure I was probably going to look a hot mess. Nothing like watching your girlfriend huff and puff around a track to make your attraction spark. But he was excited to be there, and I’ll be damned if I let insecurity get in the way of allowing the man I love to support me and be there for me.

I turned on my old running mix and off I went. As I went around the track, I was surprised by how naturally I settled into my old running form. Halfway around the lap, I felt great. By the time I reached the end of the lap, I didn’t want to stop, so I kept going. And after the second lap, I kept going. By the time I reached a mile with the third lap, I could finally feel the pain, but I wanted to keep going and push myself. And I kept going after that lap. On my 5th lap, I decided to sprint from one landmark to another, maybe 1/8 mile. It felt awesome. That’s how I ended my run. I cooled down by walking another lap.

All in all, I ran 1.6 miles, which far exceeded my expectations, honestly. Now that I’ve seen where my body is at, I can foresee having no problems reaching my 2 mile goal by the end of the month. My pace held pretty steady at 12.2 minutes per mile, which is about a minute slower than my former pace, but I was also 60 pounds lighter then and running every day. Overall, this is a good starting point. It felt really good. I forgot how amazing I feel after a run. I’m looking forward to building up my stamina again. Will hit the track again later this afternoon.

Tonight I’m seeing one of my favorite musicians of all time, Regina Spektor.  It was sort of a 30th birthday gift I bought for myself and Andrew. I’m immensely excited. Planning to cook a healthy dinner before heading out. This is going to be one of the greatest nights ever 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

