Week #5 Weigh-In!

Just going to jump right into it: 2.4 lbs down this week! That brings my first 5 weeks total to a cool 16 lbs. down. Happy dance commence!


Bam. Bam. BAM.

I’m very happy with those results, because I definitely earned them despite the licorice/chip debacle of Monday night. My activity was spot on with not one but two hikes this week, as well as meeting my ‘be able to run two miles without stopping’ goal for August. Kudos me.

Speaking of August goals, I foresee being able to meet my ‘hike 8 trails in August’ goal as well, which will be a mega-awesome feat. I already have 5 under my belt, am hiking (a long) one tomorrow with Andrew, which leaves me with just two left to trek out on before next Saturday. I’m planning on tackling one on Monday right after work and another on Thursday during my day off. Having formed two challenging goals for August, and being able to meet them, will make me feel incredibly accomplished. Not only are both goals smaller part of bigger goals (I want to be able to run 5 and 10k’s again, and I want to meet my New Year’s resolution of hiking 52 trails this year), but just knowing that I make these things for myself a priority shows how serious I’m taking all of this. It also gives my weeks more focus rather than just a general “be more active” idea. Plus, it feels really freaking good to be able to look back at the end of a month and say, “Oh yes, I did this!” As I’m concluding my August goals this week, I’m going to start formulating two goals for September. Definitely going to kick it up a notch.

So as I stated above, Andrew and I are going on a hike tomorrow. We’re going to hit up Eagle Creek, which is a 12 mile hike in the Columbia River Gorge. I had been debating doing that one solo, but I don’t think I’m *quite* comfortable taking on 10+ mile hikes solo yet. The longest solo hike I tackled was Multnomah Falls to Wahkeenah Falls, which was approx. 7.5 miles and on a very populated trail. I’m not entirely sure what to expect at Eagle Creek, especially since many other hikes shoot off at different junctions, so best to go with a partner. Plus Andrew has been perfect at navigating the trail map, whereas I tend to just go on intuition if I come to a confusing crossing, a technique bound to fail me sooner or later.

Alright, off to make week #6 a good one 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Week #5 Weigh-In!

  1. classykid says:

    Heck yes! Congratulations! That is some amazing progress. Keep it up with that steady positive attitude. You’re an inspiration. 🙂

  2. Shannon says:

    Amazing job! Looking forward to the hike update 🙂

Leave a Reply

