Week #6 Weigh-In!

Oh. My. Gosh.

I don’t…..

I don’t even know how it was possible but….

I mean…. you guys….

I LOST WEIGHT THIS WEEK!!

WHAT! WHAT!! WHAAAAT!!!

I really couldn’t believe it. I went in there, mentally prepared for a gain after a week of being mostly laid up and a full on chocolate binge. I took a breath, stepped on the scale, and then my leader spoke these words, “Yeah Jen, you are just killing it!” I asked, surprised, “I lost weight?” To which she replied, “Down 2.4 lbs this week. Great job!” She printed off my little weight sticker, put it in my booklet, and handed it back. As soon as I sat down I had to look in there to be sure, and there it was: -2.4 lbs for the week, for an 18.4 lb total loss. I was relieved and delirious.  The human body is just such a crazy thing.

I’ve decided to be happy (so happy) with this and move forward. I certainly don’t want to get cocky thinking I can just lose weight without even trying or with major gaffes, because I certainly can’t. If I pursue every week like last week it won’t be long before the scale goes back up again. I looked back on the things I did right this week rather than focus on the ones I did wrong, and there is plenty I can give myself kudos for (a 13+ mile hike, walking on the track when I felt ready, moving past my binge as soon as it was over). I also know there will be weeks when I do everything right: staying within my points allowance, keeping active, staying hydrated, and making all the right choices, and of those weeks there are sure to be a few where I won’t lose anything. Those weeks will certainly be the true test to my commitment.

That said, I’ve also reached a milestone! I’m down in the 220’s! I’ve kissed my 240’s and 230’s goodbye forever, which feels fantastic. I’m also a few pounds less now than I was when Shannon last saw me. It gets me excited knowing that the next time I see her I will be super fit and nowhere near resembling the body she saw me in last May. But even if I just happened to run into her on the street (a highly unlikely pure hypothetical), from here on in I will look better every day than when she last saw me. Just a little thing that makes me happy, and gets me super excited for the vacation we’re saving up for.

So the blister is still there, but still healing, albeit as slow as ever. Andrew looked at it last night and confirmed that it appeared to have gotten infected, which is why it’s taking so long to heal. But since it isn’t getting any worse, I just need to let it heal fully before taking any long hikes again so I don’t risk reinfecting it. My foot is still uncomfortable in a shoe, so I just wear my flip flops whenever possible (thank goodness it’s still flip flop weather here) with the toe securely wrapped in a blister-aide.

So, moving forward, I’m trying to think of two September goals. One is, for sure, to be able to run 3 miles without stopping. Seeing as I’m running a 5k (3.1 miles) on Sept. 29th, I hope to be able to meet this one for sure! I was also going to have a hiking goal, but seeing as my right foot is out of commission for my hiking boots at the moment and I start my job at the theatre again on Tuesday (on top of my day job) I have no idea what I could realistically shoot for. I’ll have to think about this over the next couple of days.

Seeing as I (and Andrew) have tomorrow off, I was hoping to get out on an awesome hike. But just as with every other day this past week, we’ll have to gauge it when I wake up. I’ve been trying really hard not to let my foot get me down too much, esp. considering it’s put me out of commission for approx. 3 hikes at this point. But Andrew made the good point that as soon as I’m up for it, I’ll be out there again soon enough tackling trails despite a busy schedule. And I know he’s right. I’ve been itching to get out there so bad I know I can make the time for hikes because of what they do for my soul. So, I just have to take care of my foot in the meantime and exercise patience.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Week #6 Weigh-In!

  1. runninbear says:

    Feels good to lose weight, even when there have been mishaps! Congratulations 🙂

  2. Shannon says:

    Woop woop! Way to go Jen!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

