Week #9 Weigh-In and other updates

First and obviously most importantly, my Week #9 weigh-in results: -1.2 lbs!

Yeah Girl!

For those keeping track and playing at home, I’ve now lost 21.6 lbs in the past 9 weeks. I’ve also lost weight every single one of those 9 weeks. I’m amazed, you guys.

So a lot has happened in the many days since I last posted. Since I don’t want to overwhelm this post (or myself) by posting a bajillion details, here are some bullet-style weight-loss related highlights:

  • Switched my Saturday morning WW meeting to Monday nights for the next 3 months due to new (temporary) Saturday morning conflicts.
  • Only got out on one hike last week.
  • Purchased a blender and have been making delicious zero point fruit smoothies (my new inanimate bestie).
  • Lost Fiona for two days, was in total despair, found her and was supremely elated.
  • Was sort of a hot mess with my points but made nearly all my daily activity goals.

That was pretty much all of last week in a nutshell. In non-weight-loss-y stuff, my schedule has been a hotbed of activity: nonstop working and being a million places all the time. I’d been feeling really out of it since working two jobs again — as in out of the “Yay weight loss and happiness!” feelings of the first 5-6 weeks, and more of the “Ugh, weight loss and apathy” sense. But then something magical happened: I got it back. Excitement for being healthy all over again, yay! I’ll ride this pony as far as she’ll trot for now.

So just to expand on some of the highlights, my blender is pretty much the best thing ever. I’ve wanted one for a while but never owned one and didn’t know what I’d do if I had one, but after perusing some tasty, healthy smoothie recipes on Pinterest, I decided to go for it. I went for an inexpensive Hamilton Beach 10 speed from Bed, Bath and Beyond, which was rated higher in satisfaction than any of the other much more expensive ones. Plus all the reviews rave about its smoothie skills, so, I was sold. After my purchase I went out and bought nearly every kind of frozen fruit in the freezer section of my grocery store. My favorite so far is a strawberry banana smoothie made with diet 7-Up:


So tasty it’s ridiculous!

I think tomorrow morning I’ll experiment with a mango-pineapple smoothie. The possibilities are endless, really.

Last Saturday night I lost Fiona and was super distressed about it. I had been wearing her every single day for two months and suddenly felt so naked without her. Except I didn’t notice she was gone until I was getting undressed for bed, which means I could have lost her at any one of 4 locations, all of which were daunting to think about. I searched my apartment and my place of work, and no luck. I was resigned to having lost her, and it would be a while until I could afford to replace her. I also discovered how much I relied on her for motivation to meet all my activity goals, and without her I wasn’t as interested. But then lo! I found her on the floor in the backseat of my car as I was putting on my hiking boots right before a hike. Immense joyousness! I have no idea how she got there, but it didn’t matter. We were reunited and all was harmonious again.

In other news, something really exciting happened today. I’ve been waiting on baited breath to be able to start seeing the physical progress of my weight loss. While it’s still a little hard for me to tell, I found the results in a jacket. I bought a rain jacket for hiking/general rainy-ness a few weeks before I started my weight loss journey. Guys, this jacket looked a hot mess on me. But it was the largest size in the store and through some finagling I could zip it up all the way, so I bought it. I wore it once (still before I started losing) and I felt like a sausage in its casing. Plus if I didn’t keep tugging it down, it would keep riding up over my stomach, which was so sexy enough for me to hang it in my closet indefinitely. So tonight I decided to go for an evening walk and enjoy the fall weather, which meant I’d need a jacket. The jacket. I tried it on, and, Holy Crap, it zipped up with ease! I could breathe in it! I could move around and it wouldn’t roll up! It fit exactly like it should. In my excitement, I took some photos:

My newly fitting jacket and I went on a very lovely 2+ mile walk to and from Whole Foods where I purchased some mushrooms and a clove of garlic that I decided to make tomorrow for a dinner side. Double win for the walk. Also, looking at those photos, I do see it. I see those pounds that are gone. I didn’t look so hourglass-y 21.6 lbs ago. You guys this is really exciting for me πŸ™‚

I’m going to try something new and plan all of my meals for tomorrow before I go to sleep tonight. I think that way I’ll make better choices if I plan ahead. Plus, if it’s already written down, I won’t feel as inclined to stray from it with mindless grazing. I’m also setting aside some time to catch up on the now four hikes I’m behind on blogging about over on 52treks. I have a good chunk of my afternoon free, so I’m taking my laptop to a cafe, sitting with a hot mug of something, and updating that thing before I go on another hike. It will be done.

Alright, I think that’s a decent recap for the week. I have a lot to look forward to the rest of this week, like some definite hikes and running the Color Run on Saturday, which I’m super stoked about. Not to mention, this weather, which puts me in an overall good mood. Hope autumn is beautiful wherever you are.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Week #9 Weigh-In and other updates

  1. Kelly says:

    congrats! i had a very similar “oh my gosh! this jacket fits!!” moment this week, too… it was glorious. πŸ™‚ (and your happy dance gifs make me smile… ha ha)

  2. veggiereader says:

    Congrats on the loss. Keep up the great work your doing.

  3. Shannon says:

    Holler! That’s so awesome, Jen! You look amazing! Thanks for the update pic, and keep’em coming!

Leave a Reply

